Askar

Verizon FiOS goes 50 Mbps

In Breaking News, Misc, News on January 11, 2007 at 6:27 pm

GigaOm reports that, under competitive pressure from local cable competitors like Cablevision, Verizon is fighting speed with speed. The company just announced that it is now offering connection speeds of up to 50 Mbps (megabits per second) downstream and 5 Mbps upstream over its FiOS network.

Though there isn’t any explicit detail of what the pricing might be, it is for sure to be super expensive. I have a 5/2 Down/Up speed and I pay 45 bucks a month. I’m sure it won’t be 10 times of what I pay now but certainly it would be expensive.

That tells me that I’ll just stick with what I get from my FiOS. It is indeed sufficient for my regular usage.

What is your opinion? What kind of service/speed do you have/prefer?

Technorati tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

