Askar

Visual Studio 2005 Service Pack 1 (SP1) Released

In .NET, IT, News, Programming, Tools on December 16, 2006 at 10:07 pm

Scott Guthrie announces that, Visual Studio team shipped the final release of Visual Studio 2005 Service Pack 1 yesterday. It is available for immediate download in all 10 languages (English, French, Spanish, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Russian, and both traditional and simplified Chinese). 

This SP release is a pretty major service pack release and incorporates a lot of bug-fixes and feedback from customers. Included with the service pack are the support for VS 2005 Web Application Projects (which is also made available as a separate download back in May). It also contains a number of design-time performance optimizations and fixes across the product.

You can download and install it here.

  1. oh please, please tell me they’ve fixed the infernal crashes! 2003 never once crashed on me – even when I had *many* solutions open simultaneously. but 2005 crashed all the time.

    I never had this problem on my home computer, but in the school lab last week – while crunching for a final project deadline, I noticed VS didn’t recognize any of my breakpoints at runtime. After 5 minutes of rebooting, cleaning, and rebuilding, I went home, ran my solution from the same thumb drive, and everything worked perfectly just as before.

    Anyway, great to see!
    Miguel

  2. Did you upgrade from 2005 beta? Or did you ever had 2005 beta installed? If so then may be you should uninstall the beta completely and try to install a fresh copy of 2005.

    At times, cleaning helps!!! Doesn’t it? 🙂

  3. I never had the beta. I got the entire professional package for free (legal) as a student 🙂 (I’m still a student)

    I actually tried uninstalling a few months back when I couldn’t see the typed data set grids in the designer (some strange problem either having to do with fonts or the screen not painting properly). anyway, after 2 attempts to full uninstall VS05 it was obvious that I had never actually succeeded in uninstalling anything. The wizard just walked me through doing superficial repairs to the install.

    oh well, Now I *know* that I’m fresh as a daisy again. 🙂

    By the way, I added you to my blogRoll!
    Miguel

  4. The options that the wizard presents are pretty identical looking that one might easily hit the “Next” button without making sure whether the option to uninstall or repair is clicked. It has happened to me few times and I was watchful after that.

    Thanks for adding me to your Blog Roll.

  5. iam little confuse b/w atlas website and asp.net web site can u make difference b/w those two template need urgent

  6. Atlas is nothing but a pre-cursor to ASP.NET AJAX, actually they just renamed it. If you meant a difference between an Atlas (ASP.NET AJAX) site and an ASP.NET site…both are 2 different stuff, although the background and some of the themes look the same.

Leave a Reply

