Askar

Microsoft .NET Framework 3.0 has officially been released

In .NET, IT, Windows XP on November 8, 2006 at 12:10 am

Microsoft just officially released the .NET Framework 3.0 version.

You can download the .NET Framework 3.0 components here:

Note, if you are using Windows Vista the .NET Framework 3.0 Runtime Components are installed by default. For all other operating systems you have to install it manually by clicking on the appropriate links above.

The Readme for the released version of the .NET Framework 3.0 is available here.  If you have a previous .NET Framework 3.0 CTP installed, please be sure to review the uninstall instructions.   If you have questions about installing the .NET Framework 3.0, please post your questions to the .NET Framework Setup Forum.

  1. wow. I was too busy with finals to notice that 3.0 had been released- but I’m curious to know why neither windows update nor VS2005 alerted me about the new update. That’s got me worried now.

    I just reinstalled my OS this morning to clean up after a full semester of junking up my drive with needless apps. While reinstalling paint.net, I was notified that I’d need to install .NET 2.0. I had already run through all of microsoft’s updates – aparently the .NET Framework isn’t included automatically in the windows updates.

    I suppose I need to check windows update to make sure I’m always getting what’s coming to me 🙂
    (I mean, other than endlessly being reminded that I need IE7)

    Miguel

  2. Miguel –

    Did you do the Custom Update or the Express Update? The last time I remember when I did the Windows Update the .NET Framework 2.0 was being offered as Custom Update.

    I agree…Windows Update is supposed to get you what’s needed but I think they move stuffs around not to overwhelm you so you can choose from the critical Express update and the picky Custom update.

  3. I use custom. After a full OS reinstall I just re-installed VS05 a few minutes ago. I wasn’t prompted to go get .net framework 3.0 or the VS05 SP1 ! I think that’s very strange.

    I really appreciate you posting all these links. I’m DL’ing all but the vista update now.

    And I’m planning on getting the SP1 for VS05, but I can’t believe that it’s 431+ Mb.
    and in the install notes, MS says:
    “Hard disk space required: 6.2GB”
    wow.

Leave a Reply

