Askar

Issue with uploading an avatar to WordPress

In IT on October 31, 2006 at 8:42 am

This morning I was just trying to upload an avatar for my profile at WordPress. Okay, so it asked me for a picture and when I uploaded an image of mine it gave me this “Crop Image” page where it asks me to crop the portion of the image.

But, weirdly, there wasn’t a way to crop it. There are no controls available for me to crop the image. And so when I hit the “Crop Image” button it just uploads an empty image, a black empty image. Matt, or someone out there whom have done this before, can you guys let me know how to get over this issue?

Thanks in advance.

Technorati tags: ,

  1. Hey man, I’ve run into this problem to, but no one seems to be responding with an answer anywhere. Did you happen to find a way to fix it? Thanks in advance…

  2. Baggett, I know that wouldn’t make you feel good when you see a blank image instead of the avatar.

    I didn’t anything special lately. I just happened to try it one more time after closing the browser completely (no session restores). That resolved my problem. I was able to see the controls to crop the image for an avatar.

    If closing the browser wouldn’t help I would suggest trying it in a different browser (IE if you use Firefox and the vice versa).

    Hope it helps. Please leave your comment here when you resolve the issue. That would certainly help some one else.

  3. Hey askars, I came in today and booted the compy back up and gave it a fresh start in FireFox, lo and behold, the cropping reticle shows up now and I was able to add my avatar (Yay for Vampire Hunter D!).

    So, anyone else who read this, if you can’t get the cropping square to show up when you add your avatar, close your browser, clear all your cookies and temp files, and try again. If that still doesn’t work, you may need to reboot the computer.

    Askars, thanks a bunch for your help, don’t be a stranger.

  4. I’m glad that it helped. Thanks for letting us know. Much appreciated.

    You are very welcome, Chris!!!

  5. Ill try ur advise!

Leave a Reply

