Askar

The All New Yahoo Mail Beta

In IT, Tools on September 15, 2006 at 3:52 am

The latest and greatest version of Yahoo Mail (its still in beta) is open for public now. You can give it a try here.

Here are some of the features at a glance.

  • Reading Pane (I liked it)
  • Tabbed Messages (Pretty cool)
  • RSS Feeds
  • Auto check for new messages
  • Drag & Drop
  • and many more.

I was a beta user for this new Yahoo Mail for quite a while now. My personal comments on the new endeavor is good and bad I would say. I liked the interface a lot more than others. It pretty much looks like Microsoft Outlook and the tabbed messages gives you enormous control when you are to read many emails at a time. It’s primarily AJAX at it’s best.

But the bad part that made me switch was the performance. In a normal day I receive around 50 emails on my Yahoo mail box and to go thru it all at a time on a day was a real pain. It just was so slow. Sometimes, unbelievably slow. Now I’ve switched back to the traditional ‘ol Yahoo Mail. It might be my machine as I run so many apps on my machine. I doubt that could be the case. But if you find it not that of a performance wore you can leave me a comment.

Here is the link for you to give it a try. There is nothing to loose. You can always switch back.

Tags: , ,

Socialize: del.icio.us reddit digg furl newswine blinklist co.mments

Leave a Reply

