Askar

Digging on Digg.com – My Experience

In General, IT on August 10, 2006 at 5:10 am

Okay…so…I submitted my 2 stories to Digg few days back and was following the pattern of how people are digging the stories. I noticed that the story was dugg by few people as soon I’ve submitted them. Happy. And everything looked fine. Then as few hours passed by there wasn’t as many diggs on to my story, even though I could see more people hitting my blog. Digging just slowed down. Weird, I thought. Then I started looking into the details of how a story make it to the front (Popular) page.

Here is how (as per Digg),

Once a story is submitted by a user it is instantly posted in the
Upcoming stories section. This is a temporary holding place where
stories wait to be promoted to the homepage. To help promote stories to
the homepage, simply visit the Upcoming stories section and digg
stories you think are cool. Once a story has received enough diggs, it
is instantly promoted. Should the story not receive enough diggs,
surpass 24 hours, or is reported, it eventually falls out of the
Upcoming stories section. Digg works because a large group of people
actively digg (promote) good stories and report (remove bad stories).
Since digg’s content is user-driven, it is up to YOU to contribute.

Fine. So, to get to the front page a story should receive an unknown number of diggs. The problem lies on the way the “Upcoming” stories are presented to the diggers. It’s either in a cloud view or the traditional list view. Both has problems. As soon as few other stories got submitted you could easily see your story leave out of the first page of “Upcoming” stories on the list view and in the case of cloud view it just gets mixed with all the latest ones. It’s kind of hard to locate the story there after. If it’s hard to locate the story then I cannot expect the story to get as many diggs as it deserves. Because of this issue I’ve seen there were stories that reach the front page without the real qualification.

I’m not saying anything wrong here about Digg. Digg is a great thing that could happen on the web and it’s a great tool to get quite a mix of news. I like it like anything and used to hit the site quite often in a day. But I felt little disappointed when it comes to my turn of submitting the stories. That’s when I realized this issue. It could work for me one day, if I’m lucky that there aren’t that many stories submitted when I submit my story. Otherwise I know it’s kind of hard for a story to sail thru given the methodology involved.

I may be wrong, but I just wanted to state that out louder so that I could be corrected or it could be heard by the responsible parties.

Let me know what do ya think.

Tags: Digg, Digg.com

Socialize: del.icio.us reddit digg furl newswine blinklist co.mments

  1. I am little bit suspicious about the way the post gets to the frontpage. But it does help to bring quite a bit traffic to the site; so I don’t mine submitting my stories and staying active in Digg. Do you think the top rank diggers like digitalgopher and “his groups” reached the top rank fairly? btw, i got to your site from a website that thinks Digg is corrupted.

  2. Thank you ProTibet. I definitely agree that Digg brings in traffic. That’s the whole reason of Digg’s existense and that’s what makes it a crazy thing.

    I’m not sure but I think the top diggers could have manipulated the system to attain that status. And to me the whole model is so hackable. With a decent/dedicated friends network Digg can be fooled to a certain level. They should come up with different algorithms on how things are getting driven.

    For example, in the “cloud view” of the upcoming stories they could make the entries appear as bold as the number of diggs, like what a tag cloud does. That would at least give some attention to the upcoming entries that received more diggs and can be catchy to an already lost digger. Things like that could help trust on the Digg system.

    BTW, lately I haven’t submitted any entries on to Digg. If there is a viable alternative then I wouldn’t mind giving it a try.

Leave a Reply

