Askar

How To: Bring Google Calendar on your Windows XP Desktop

In IT, Tips N Tricks, Tools on August 7, 2006 at 3:00 pm

I hate (I’m sure you do as well) that many windows floating around on my screen. But there are times when you cannot avoid.

One certain application window I always keep was the Google Calendar window. But then I hate cluttering my Windows bar with that many windows. I just came across this invaluable (at least to me) tip to bring Google Calendar on to my desktop so it will always be readily available to me in a click of a key (actually 2, Windows + D). .

Here is how you do it,

  • Right-click on your desktop and select the "Properties" option on the menu.
  • Click the "Desktop" tab.
  • Click the "Customize Desktop" button that’s down below that dialog.
  • Click the "Web" tab.
  • Click the "New" button.
  • For "Location:" key-in http://www.google.com/calendar/render
  • Click the "Properties" button for this URL.
  • Click the "Schedule" tab.
  • Add at least one time each day to do the sync. Remeber: You can always refresh by yourself whenever needed but do pick a time to sync.
  • Click OK to make each window go away.

When you do this, Windows might complain about unable to sync to the page etc. Just say "Ok" to that and close all the windows by clicking "Ok".

Expand the window on your desktop as much as you want or in my case what I did was I clicked on the little menu (a down arrow when you hover over the top of that desktop window) to select the "Split Desktop with Icons" option. By this way I have access to my desktop icons as well Google Calendar on the side. Great!!!

Now you should be able to see the Google login page on your desktop. Just key-in your login credentials and make sure to check the "Remember me on this computer" option and hit the login button. It might open up another window (the default web browser that you’ve set on your computer) with Google Calendar rendered.

Hey…Don’t panic. Don’t call 911 🙂  Just close the window. And right click on your (still) the log-in page on your desktop and hit "Refresh". Woila…there the Google Calendar, this time, on your desktop.

Hope you find it useful.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Socialize: del.icio.us reddit digg furl newswine blinklist co.mments

  1. It worked,
    Cheers mate!

    Only problem with this is you get the top bar (settings, and the HUGE google logo…..)

    hmmmm
    If only you could show all the different colour calendars i have in the other view which is smaller. Far smaller…..

  2. Doesn’t seem to work since IE8, unfortunately.

  3. it doesn’t work, at refresh all fields become blank, on SP3 at least

  4. Didn’t work and now half my desktop is gray and i can’t remove it. Any ideas on how to go back to my original desktop?

  5. Hi there 🙂

    thanks for your how to. It is exactly what i was searching for. Unfortunately id doesnt work for me too. Doesnt work with frames and a actual WinXP with all updates and IE8. How did you fix this or ist it still working for you?

    Best Regards
    Tamer

  6. 
    Hay población comentar y población que no.
    Yo pienso que lo tuyo es consagrarte a estudiar o
    algo así.

Leave a Reply

