Askar

FreeRAM XP Pro

In Tools on July 31, 2006 at 9:34 pm

Another nice little utility that silently does the job of cleaning your computer’s memory of any orphaned windows handlers. Why do you need to clean up your computer’s memory? Over a period of time or if you are running Windows for an extended period of time and lauching applications that aren’t completely optimized (most of ’em out there are not completely optimized, let me tell ya) your computer memory will be filled out with orphaned handlers that stays back in the memory even after you’ve exited the application.

So, doing this over a period of time, what happens? You know the answer…don’t you? It will just make you computer run crappy, like a tortoise, as your computer has to do excessive paging (paging, in a lay-man’s term, a way of shuffling your computer’s memory in an effort to give all the running applications an even slice of the available memory).

Solution: FreeRAM XP Pro.

I just came across this tool and I’m so far pretty impressed with it. After I’ve installed this tool, today morning was the first time my computer maxed-out it’s memory, that kicked-off the FreeRAM tool. I have a GIG of RAM on my laptop and what happened in the morning was that I was running closer to 1000 MB. Sounds crazy? Yes it may very well…but I do run applications that are heavy-weight in terms of their memory footprint and so at many instances I just max out of my computer’s memory. So my FreeRAM utility came up and tried to clean up some of the memory and guess what…it has cleaned up a whopping 620 MB of RAM and brought my laptop back to it’s efficient routine. That’s almost 60% of free space and none of the applications that were running at that time was afffected.

You can download one here or at Download.com.

Tags: ,

  1. sounds good to me

Leave a Reply

